The Jaguar I-PACE has won the title of European Car of the Year 2019
The Jaguar I-PACE has won the title of European Car of the Year 2019

The all-electric Jaguar I-PACE has been voted European Car of the Year 2019.

This is the first time a Jaguar has won the coveted prize. The Jaguar I-PACE won the title ahead of competition from the Alpine A110, Citroën C5 Aircross, Ford Focus, Kia Ceed, Mercedes-Benz A-Class and Peugeot 508.

Results of the 2019 vote:

  • Jaguar I-Pace: 250 points
  • Alpine A110: 250 points
  • Kia Ceed: 247 points
  • Ford Focus: 235 points
  • Citroën C5 Aircross: 210 points
  • Peugeot 508: 192 points
  • Mercedes-Benz A-class: 116 points

For the first time in the history of the awards, two cars had the same number of winning points: the Alpine A110 and the Jaguar I-Pace. The Jaguar was placed in the number 1 slot more often than the Alpine (Jaguar I-Pace: 18, Alpine A110: 16 times), and so was declared the winner.

The European Car of the Year jury is made up of 60 motoring journalists from 23 countries, and the award recognises technical innovation, design, performance, efficiency and value for money.

Prof. Dr. Ralf Speth, Chief Executive Officer, Jaguar Land Rover, said: “For our first electric vehicle to also be the first Jaguar to win European Car of the Year gives us a huge sense of pride.”

“I-PACE was designed and engineered in the UK from a clean sheet of paper. It is the most technologically advanced battery electric vehicle. It’s a true game-changer. Winning European Car of the Year is an honour and real recognition of what our world-class team has delivered.”

The Jaguar I-PACE has already 8,000 customer deliveries to date, with 75 per cent of them in Europe. The electric powertrain and bespoke aluminium architecture offer sports car performance and SUV practicality.

The I-PACE has received 55 awards worldwide since it was revealed a year ago, including German, Norwegian and UK Car of the Year, BBC TopGear magazine EV of the Year, China Green Car of the Year, and Autobest’s ECOBEST Award.